2021 Emmys Awards: ‘Queen’s Gambit,’ ‘Ted Lasso,’ and ‘The Crown’ Take Top Prizes

Other winners at the Cedric the Entertainer-hosted event include “Saturday Night Live,” John Oliver, Stephen Colbert, and Dave Chappelle

September 20, 2021

Monarchs and other vaguely British imports were all the rage at Sunday night’s 73rd annual Emmys.

The top awards went to Netflix limited series “The Queen’s Gambit,” about kings and queens on the chess board, Netflix drama “The Crown,” about kings and queens in Buckingham Palace, and Apple TV+ comedy “Ted Lasso,” about an American football coach who crosses the Atlantic to coach soccer.

Other big winners at the Cedric the Entertainer-hosted awards show included Stern Show veterans Stephen Colbert, Dave Chappelle, and John Oliver as well as Kate Winslet, RuPaul, Jason Sudeikis, Maya Rudolph, Ewan McGregor, and Jean Smart.

Check out the complete list of winners and Sunday evening’s “in memoriam” tribute (below).

Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series

“The Queen’s Gambit” – WINNER


“Mare of Easttown”

“I May Destroy You”

“The Underground Railroad”

Outstanding Drama Series

“The Boys”


“The Crown” – WINNER

“The Handmaid’s Tale”

“Lovecraft Country”

“The Mandalorian”


Outstanding Comedy Series


“Cobra Kai”

“Emily in Paris”


“The Flight Attendant”

“The Kominsky Method”


“Ted Lasso” – WINNER

Outstanding Variety Special, Pre-Recorded

“Bo Burnham: Inside””David Byrne’s American Utopia”

“8:46” — Dave Chappelle

“Friends: The Reunion”

“Hamilton” – WINNER

“A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote”

Outstanding Variety Special, Live

“Celebrating America – An Inauguration Night Special”

“Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020” – WINNER

“The 63rd Annual Grammy Awards”
“The Oscars”
“The Pepsi Super Bowl LV Halftime Show Starring The Weeknd”

Lead Actor, Drama

Regé-Jean Page, “Bridgerton”
Jonathan Majors, “Lovecraft Country”
Matthew Rhys, “Perry Mason”
Billy Porter, “Pose”

Josh O’Connor, “The Crown” – WINNER

Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”

Lead Actress, Drama

Uzo Aduba, “In Treatment”
Jurnee Smollett, “Lovecraft Country”

Mj Rodriguez, “Pose

Olivia Colman, “The Crown” – WINNER

Emma Corrin, “The Crown”
Elisabeth Moss, “The Handmaid’s Tale”

Lead Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie

Ewan McGregor, “Halston” – WINNER

Paul Bettany, “WandaVision”

Hugh Grant, “The Undoing”

Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Hamilton”

Leslie Odom Jr., “Hamilton”

Lead Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie

Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You”

Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”

Elizabeth Olsen, “WandaVision”

Anya Taylor-Joy, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown” – WINNER

Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special

Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You” – WINNER

Brad Ingelsby, “Mare Of Easttown”
Scott Frank, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Chuck Hayward and Peter Cameron, “WandaVision” (for the episode “All-New Halloween Spooktacular!”)
Jac Schaeffer, “WandaVision” (for the episode “Filmed Before A Live Studio Audience”)
Laura Donney, “WandaVision” (for the episode “Previously On”)

Directing for a Limited Series

Thomas Kail, “Hamilton”
Sam Miller and Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You” (for the episode “Ego Death”)
Sam Miller, “I May Destroy You” (for the episode “Eyes Eyes Eyes Eyes”)
Craig Zobel, “Mare Of Easttown”

Scott Frank, “The Queen’s Gambit” – WINNER

Barry Jenkins, “The Underground Railroad”
Matt Shakman, “WandaVision”

Reality Competition Program

“Nailed It!”

“Queer Eye”

“RuPaul’s Drag Race” – WINNER

“Shark Tank”

“Top Chef”

Lead Actor, Comedy

Anthony Anderson, “Black-ish”
Kenan Thompson, “Kenan”
William H. Macy, “Shameless”

Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso” – WINNER

Michael Douglas, “The Kominsky Method”

Lead Actress, Comedy

Tracee Ellis Ross, “Black-ish”

Jean Smart, “Hacks” – WINNER

Allison Janney, “Mom”
Aidy Bryant, “Shrill”
Kaley Cuoco, “The Flight Attendant”

Directing for a Comedy Series

James Burrows, “B Positive”

Lucia Aniello, “Hacks” – WINNER

James Widdoes, “Mom”
Zach Braff, “Ted Lasso”
MJ Delaney, “Ted Lasso”
Declan Lowney, “Ted Lasso”
Susanna Fogel, “The Flight Attendant”

Writing for a Comedy Series

Meredith Scardino, “Girls5eva”

Lucia Aniello, Paul W. Downs and Jen Statsky, “Hacks” – WINNER

Maya Erskine, “PEN15”
Jason Sudeikis, Brendan Hunt and Joe Kelly, “Ted Lasso”
Jason Sudeikis, Brendan Hunt, Bill Lawrence and Joe Kelly, “Ted Lasso”
Steve Yockey, “The Flight Attendant”

Variety Sketch Series

“A Black Lady Sketch Show”

“Saturday Night Live” – WINNER

Variety Talk Series


“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” – WINNER

“The Late Show With Stephen Colbert”

“The Daily Show With Trevor Noah”

“Jimmy Kimmel Live!”

Writing for a Variety Series

“A Black Lady Sketch Show”

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” – WINNER

“Saturday Night Live”

“The Amber Ruffin Show”

“The Late Show With Stephen Colbert”

Supporting Actor, Drama

Michael K. Williams, “Lovecraft Country”
John Lithgow, “Perry Mason”

Tobias Menzies, “The Crown” – WINNER

O-T Fagbenle, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Max Minghella, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Bradley Whitford, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Giancarlo Esposito, “The Mandalorian”
Chris Sullivan, “This Is Us”

Supporting Actress, Drama

Aunjanue Ellis, “Lovecraft Country”

Gillian Anderson, “The Crown” – WINNER

Helena Bonham Carter, “The Crown”
Emerald Fennell, “The Crown”
Madeline Brewer, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Ann Dowd, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Yvonne Strahovski, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Samira Wiley, “The Handmaid’s Tale”

Directing for a Drama Series

Julie Anne Robinson, “Bridgerton”
Steven Canals, “Pose”
Benjamin Caron, “The Crown”

Jessica Hobbs, “The Crown” – WINNER

Liz Garbus, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Jon Favreau, “The Mandalorian”

Writing for a Drama Series

Misha Green, “Lovecraft Country”
Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals, Janet Mock and Our Lady J, “Pose”
Rebecca Sonnenshine, “The Boys”

Peter Morgan, “The Crown” – WINNER

Yahlin Chang, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Dave Filoni, “The Mandalorian”
Jon Favreau, “The Mandalorian”

Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie

Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”
Jonathan Groff, “Hamilton”
Anthony Ramos, “Hamilton”
Paapa Essiedu, “I May Destroy You”

Evan Peters, “Mare of Easttown” – WINNER

Thomas Brodie-Sangster, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a Movie

Photo: Getty Images

Phillipa Soo, “Hamilton”
Renée Elise Goldsberry, “Hamilton”

Julianne Nicholson, “Mare of Easttown” – WINNER

Jean Smart, “Mare Of Easttown”
Moses Ingram, “The Queen’s Gambit”
Kathryn Hahn, “WandaVision”

Supporting Actor, Comedy

Photo: Getty Images

Carl Clemons-Hopkins, “Hacks”
Kenan Thompson, “Saturday Night Live”
Bowen Yang, “Saturday Night Live”

Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso” – WINNER

Brendan Hunt, “Ted Lasso”
Nick Mohammed, “Ted Lasso”
Jeremy Swift, “Ted Lasso”
Paul Reiser, “The Kominsky Method”

Supporting Actress, Comedy

Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks”
Cecily Strong, “Saturday Night Live”
Aidy Bryant, “Saturday Night Live”
Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live”
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso”

Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso” – WINNER

Rosie Perez, “The Flight Attendant”