New Jimi Hendrix Album Featuring 10 Previously Unheard Songs to Hit Shelves in 2018

“Both Sides of the Sky” features collaborations with several famed artists, including Stern Show veteran Stephen Stills

December 7, 2017
Jimi Hendrix performing in 1969 Jimi Hendrix performing in 1969 Photo: Getty Images

Forty-seven years after his death, Jimi Hendrix is still releasing new music.

Sony Legacy Recordings has announced plans to unearth “Both Sides of the Sky,” a posthumous LP featuring 10 previously unheard tracks the guitar legend recorded between 1968 and 1970.

The 13-song album will available in multiple formats, including CD, digital, and 180-gram audiophile double-vinyl, and will feature a number of collaborations with other famed artists, including deceased blues legend Johnny Winter and Stern Show veteran Stephen Stills.

The LP also boasts a handful of covers, including a version of Muddy Waters’ “Mannish Boy” and Stills and Hendrix performing a rendition of Joni Mitchell’s “Woodstock” (several years before Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young would do the same).

When Stills, a two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, joined the Stern Show in 2009, he and Howard discussed Jimi’s life and legacy at length as well as the one-time possibility of Stephen joining the Jimi Hendrix Experience. Get more on the interview here.

“Both Sides of the Sky” follows 2010’s “Valleys of Neptune” and 2013’s “People, Hell and Angels” as the third and final installment in a series of previously unreleased music from the archives of Hendrix, who would’ve been 75 in September.

The album is available March 9. Check out the track listing (below):

1. “Mannish Boy” (previously unreleased)

2. “Lover Man” (previously unreleased)

3. “Hear My Train A Comin'” (previously unreleased)

4. “Stepping Stone” (previously unreleased)

5. “$20 Fine” (previously unreleased, featuring Stephen Stills)

6. “Power Of Soul” (previously unavailable extended version)

7. “Jungle” (previously unreleased)

8. “Things I Used to Do” (featuring Johnny Winter)

9. “Georgia Blues” (featuring Lonnie Youngblood)

10. “Sweet Angel” (previously unreleased)

11. “Woodstock” (previously unreleased, featuring Stephen Stills)

12. “Send My Love To Linda” (previously unreleased)

13. “Cherokee Mist” (previously unreleased)

You Give us your email Address we'll give you even more howard!

By signing up, I agree to receive newsletters and marketing emails from the Howard Stern Show and accept the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy