Bill Murray to Be Honored With Mark Twain Prize

Dan Aykroyd, David Letterman, and Jimmy Kimmel will be among those to toast the legendary comedian

October 19, 2016
Photo: Away! / PR Photos

Finally, an event that Bill Murray won’t have to delightfully crash.

The Kennedy Center has announced the comedy legend and former Stern Show guest will be the recipient of the next Mark Twain Prize on Oct. 23. Among Murray’s toasters will be longtime friend David Letterman and “Ghostbusters” and “SNL” costar Dan Aykroyd, as well as Jimmy Kimmel, Bill Hader, and Aziz Ansari, among others.

The event will be broadcast Oct. 28 on PBS.

The first Mark Twain Prize for American Humor was awarded in 1998, and has since honored such greats as Richard Pryor, Bob Newhart, George Carlin, and Carol Burnett.

Read more about Murray’s upcoming salute here.

You Give us your email Address we'll give you even more howard!

By signing up, I agree to receive newsletters and marketing emails from the Howard Stern Show and accept the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy